May is School Board Recognition Month

School Board Leaders Honored In May

May is School Board Recognition Month and an opportunity for local schools and communities to honor Iowa’s nearly 1,900 locally elected school board members for their dedication to children and schools.

“Providing our community’s children with a sound education is the most important investment we can make,” said Joe Stutting, Superintendent. “We are proud of our elected leaders in this community and want to thank them for their service. School Board Recognition Month is the time to say thank you and recognize their continuing commitment to our school.”

In North Scott Community School District, school board members develop policies and make decisions that impact the entire community. They are responsible for an annual budget of $35 million, 3200 students, 250 employees and 10 buildings.

“School board members make critical decisions and oversee millions in educational expenditures;” notes Stutting “They donate countless hours of personal time in service to Iowa students”.

The North Scott community is fortunate to have a board that strives to do what is best for our students. They are focused on making North Scott a place where people choose to learn, work, and live. Please take the time to thank John Maxwell, Molly Bergfeld, Nick Hansel, Glenn Keppy, Donn Wilmott, Joni Dittmer, and Reid Blanche for their dedication and services to the North Scott School District and communities.